Paris and Amsterdam!

First off, sorry I’ve been so terrible about updating my blog.  I’ll try to get my life together a bit better so I can update it more regularly.  Second, I’m last-minute writing this a few hours before I hop on an overnight train to Italy where I’ll be for the next 10 days… so this probably won’t be my most eloquent post haha.

Two weekends ago I went to Paris!! Finally, I know.  Unfortunately I had to take care of some administrative stuff here on Friday (I’m an official citizen of the city of Metz now!!), so I was only able to go for one night.  Paris was exactly what I thought it would be.  It pretty much fits into every stereotype that people have of it, which is great!  First we went to the Louvre.  It was.. alright.  The best part of it were the ceilings and the decorations of the room.  The Mona Lisa is also not too exciting.  Some of the other paintings were incredible though!  The sheer size of them had us all wondering how in the world someone could even paint them.

Of course we had to go see the Eiffel tower, and it was beautiful.  It was also a lot bigger than I thought it would be, which made it hard to take pictures.  My life is hard, I know.  Also, CREPES.  Holy moly are those things delicious here!  I swear I’m going to be about 20 lbs heavier for the plane ride home.  The next day we went to Versailles.  Unfortunately it was super crowded, but I saw enough of it to decide that it’s going to be my future summer home.  Historical landmark or not, I think I deserve it.

This past weekend I went to Amsterdam, where we also only stayed for one night.  Amsterdam is just a really chill city.  There’s some stuff to do, places to see, but it’s one of those cities where you could just meander around the canals and enjoy the scenery.  We went to this ridiculous museum called “Museum Electric LadyLand”.  Just wait until you see the pictures.  The “museum”, if you can even call it that, was in this random, hole in the wall shop where you went into the basement and got to walk through this fluorescent cave like thingy.  Like I said, you have to look at the pictures.  Also, the guy who was showing us around really reminded me of the old guy from That 70’s Show.  It was great.

Later that night, we just kind of wandered around.  There was a lot going on so it was a lot of fun.  The next morning we got up and went to the market!  I’ve really become a big fan of the markets here.  I bought some wool socks and my friend Tara almost bought this great tacky Christmas sweater vest thing.  The market was huge, and they literally had EVERYTHING.  After that we headed home, very exhausted.

As promised, here are all of my pictures!!  Oktoberfest, Ireland, Paris, and Amsterdam

PS… shout out to the Weyerhaeuser people who made the dirndl possible!!  It definitely took Oktoberfest to a whole other level

About clairealligood

Food, travel, and friends. That's all I need.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

