“Yo, smell my cheese”

France is pretty well-known for its wine, baguettes, and cheese.  Well let me tell you… I can get a wheel of good cheese (roughly 4 in diameter), a meter long baguette, and a bottle of wine for a total under 5 euros.  It’s also all delicious (I’m eating a baguette and camembert right now).  As soon as someone buys cheese, they immediately get everyone to “smell how weird it is”.  About 5 minutes later the same person will be walking down the hallway raving about how delicious it is.

This week is the Festival of Plums in Metz and this morning I braved the market sale in the center of the city.  It was absolute craziness!  Street upon street was filled with vendors selling clothes, shoes, purses, hookahs, and even garlic.  Yes, there was a stand with just garlic.

We’ve finally figured our way around the city pretty well.  I attribute a lot of that to the time I was lost with two other Duke students for roughly 2 hours.  We took a wrong turn on the way into the city and almost made it to the next city over.  It was also the hottest day Metz had pretty much ever seen.  We did happen to find the FC Metz soccer stadium on our mini adventure, so I guess we’ll have to go see a game now.  Now we have rented bikes for the semester and will be using those to get around locally.  We’re already so European.

Yesterday was my first day of classes and as far as I can tell they are going to be pretty good.  The professors seem pretty relaxed and the material actually sounds interesting.  My French teacher is probably my favorite.  She’s a little crazy.  When she shows us how to pronounce sounds she has no shame.  I have never seen a human make some of the faces she has made.  But it’s ok because she’s awesome.  Also, when I whipped out my pack of different color pens and started color coding my notes for Thermo (yes, I’m very type A) I got some strange looks.  Apparently not very many people do that around here.

Besides that, it’s mostly been random things… I walked out of my room and into the hallway and saw all of the guys doing ab ripper x together.  I had no desire to join so I just continued eating my baguette and cheese.  I’ll probably have to start exercising at some point.  However, if I keep buying so much heavy stuff at the grocery store I may not have to.  It’s about a 15 minute walk to Cora (the best super market on the planet!) and both times I’ve had to take rest stops on the way back.  It’s kind of embarrassing.  Oh… and there is a prison right across from where I live.  No big deal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About clairealligood

Food, travel, and friends. That's all I need.
This entry was posted in Just For Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Yo, smell my cheese”

  1. Ginny Garrett says:

    Enjoy every minute, and please keep posting. I feel like I’m on vacation.

  2. Leslie Schnering says:

    Yes, please do keep posting. I am living vicariously ~ and thoroughly enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

